

## RESOLUTION NO. 2020-09 A RESOLUTION OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF SAN DIEGO COMMUNITY POWER RECOGNIZING AND HONORING MARK WEST

- A. WHEREAS, Mark West has served on the Imperial Beach City Council since December 2016, representing more than 26,000 residents in the most southwesterly city in the continental United States and the home of world-class surfing; and
- B. WHEREAS, Councilmember West served a distinguished twenty-four-year career in the United States Navy, ensuring the safety and freedom of the United States of America; and
- C. WHEREAS, Councilmember West has demonstrated continued support for environmental stewardship and renewable energy by acting as the Chair of the San Diego chapter of Surfrider, acting as program leader for Surfrider's "No Border Sewage" Committee, and helping to pass a climate action plan in Imperial Beach that included a social justice component and a plan to utilize 100% clean renewable energy by 2030; and
- D. WHEREAS, since October 2019, Councilmember West has served as a founding member on the Board of Directors of San Diego Community Power, California's second-largest community choice aggregator, which will provide profound regional energy benefits to the residents of Imperial Beach and its other member cities for decades to come; and
- E. WHEREAS, Councilmember West has also served as a founding member of the San Diego Community Power's Finance and Risk Management Committee, on which he provided key input and direction to guide SDCP's establishment and implementation of its community choice aggregation program; and
- F. WHEREAS, through his service to San Diego Community Power, Councilmember West's many contributions and dedication to public service have provided significant benefits to the residents of Imperial Beach and SDCP's other member cities.

**NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED** by the Board of Directors of San Diego Community Power that it hereby commends and honors Councilmember Mark West for his accomplishments and extends its gratitude for his service.

**PASSED AND ADOPTED** at a meeting of the Board of Directors of San Diego Community Power held on December 17, 2020.

Joe Mosca, Chair San Diego Community Power Megan Wiegelman, Interim Secretary San Diego Community Power

Megan Wiegelman

AYES: Chair Mosca (Encinitas), Vice Chair Padilla (Chula Vista), Director Baber (La Mesa), Director Dedina (Imperial Beach), and Director Montgomery (San Diego)

NOES: None ABSTAINED: None ABSENT: None